AuthorTurkish literature

Necati Güngör

He was born in Malatya in 1949. He aroused interest in literary circles with his first story book Beginning of the Road (Yolun Başı, 1973) which was published while he was studying law at İstanbul University. He received Story Award of Turkish Language Association in 1979 with Love is Bread (Sevgi Ekmektir), and Ömer Seyfettin Story Award in 1990 with My Darling the Cinema Bird (Sinema Kuşu Sevgilim). With his interviews, he received Abdi İpekçi Peace and Friendship Award as well as the Interviewer of the Year Award given by the Jockey Club of İstanbul in year 1990. With his story book Good People Die Young (İyiler Genç Ölür, 1998) he received 1999 Yunus Nadi Story Award. He compiled his stories depicting various neighborhoods of İstanbul with a nostalgic sensitivity in his book İstanbul Nostalgia of a Countryman (Bir Taşralının İstanbul Nostaljisi, 1990). He wrote Animals’ World Full of Secrets (Hayvanların Sır Dolu Dünyası, 2010) and for children he wrote books named Nacred Jackknife of My Father (Babamın Sedefli Çakısı, 1990), Story Bird (Masal Kuşu, 1992) and Daisy Bride (Papatya Gelin, 2004). His first story book published by Günışığı Kitaplığı is Silent Heart (Sessiz Yürek, 2009) written for the award winning “Bridge Books” collection; the book covers wonderful stories about animals and children. His following story book A House for Mom (Anneme Bir Ev Alacağım, 2011) covers stories about motherhood. And his next story book My Dear Teacher (Sevgili Öğretmenim, 2015) focuses on teacher-student relationship, and the book received Naim Tirali Story Award in 2017. His book Write Me a Story About Humanity (Bir Hikâye Yaz İçinde İnsan Olsun, 2017) covers stories depicting human relations and behaviors from the perspective of a child. His latest stories focusing on father and child communication are compiled in his new book Dad is Far Away Now (Babam Şimdi Çok Uzaklarda, 2019). Güngör lives in İstanbul and continues to enrich children’s literature with his plain and heartwarming stories.

All Books Written by Necati Güngör

2nd edition
10th edition
6th edition
6th edition
9th edition
Scroll to Top